Awards Program

Alliance Awards Program

Each year the Alliance and its charter associations honor members of the academic internal medicine community for outstanding leadership, dedication, and service to the profession and the organization through the AAIM Awards Program. With  many different awards designed to honor various positions within departments of medicine and the internal medicine community, there is ample opportunity to ensure your colleagues are recognized for their commitment, enthusiasm, and expertise.

Select the awards category on the right to view more information about each award.

Be sure your colleagues receive the recognition they deserve by answering the call for nominations opening this spring. If you have questions about the AAIM Awards Program, please contact AAIM Member Engagement, Diversity & Inclusion Team  at (703) 341-4540 or email


2020 Award Recipients

The Alliance is excited to announce the 2020 awards recipients. This year’s recipients represent an outstanding group of academic internal medicine professionals who have been recognized for their exceptional leadership, dedicated service, and astounding achievements. Eighteen of the award recipients will be honored during Academic Internal Medicine Week 2020, being held April 19-22 at the Tampa Bay Convention Center in Tampa, FL. Join us in congratulating these individuals for their contributions to academic internal medicine.

Emelia J. Benjamin, MD, ScM, FACC, FAHA
2020 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award

T. Robert Vu, MD
2020 AAIM Special Recognition Award

Brian L. David, MBA
2020 AIM Distinguished Service Award

Diana B. McNeill, MD, MACP
2020 APDIM Dema C. Daley Founders Award

Eric J. Warm, MD, FACP
2020 APDIM Distinguished Medical Educator Award

Michelle Herbers
2020 APDIM Program Administrator Award 

Deena W. Segal, C-TAGME
2020 APDIM Program Administrator Excellence Award

David L. Coleman, MD
2020 APM Robert H. Williams, MD, Distinguished Chair of Medicine Award 

Frances A. Collichio, MD
2020 ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Leadership in Specialty Internal Medicine Award

Christopher J. King, MD
2020 CDIM Early Career Medical Student Educator Award 

Thomas M. De Fer, MD, FACP
2020 CDIM Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, Service Award 

Irene Alexandraki, MD, MPH
2020 CDIM Charles H. Griffith, III, MD, Educational Research and Scholarship Award 

Angela Duet
2020 CDIM Linda J. Marts Administrator Service Award

Adam S. Cifu, MD
2020 CDIM Louis N. Pangaro, MD, Educational Program Development Award 

Jaideep Talwalkar, MD
2020 MPPDA Brendan P. Kelly, MD, Award 

Michael P. Lukela, MD, SFHM, FACP, FAAP
2020 MPPDA Leadership in Med-Peds Award 

Betty E. Aman and Deborah A. Harris, C-TAGME
2020 MPPDA Program Administrator Service Award 

Jessica Hane, MD
2020 Walter W. Tunnessen, Jr., MD, Award

Past Awards Recipients