AAIM Higher! Recognition Program

Been recently promoted? Received an award? Published a research piece? 

AAIM Higher! is a program for the recognition and sharing of members' recent accomplishments (within the last six months). 

Share this good news about yourself, or a colleague, with the Alliance. No feat is too small or too big—this is the time to celebrate! The Alliance will place your submission in an upcoming issue of AAIM Connection, and right here on the website. 

Submit Good News

Questions about AAIM Higher?
Contact AAIM Member Services at (703) 341-4540 or

Congratulations to Our Members Who AAIM Higher!

August 2022

  • Mark Anderson, MD, PhD, has been appointed as Dean and Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs at University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
  • Patricia Finn, MD, has been appointed Dean of the University of New Mexico School of Medicine
  • Inginia Genao, MD, has been appointed as the first Vice Dean of Diversity, Equity, and Belonging at Penn State College of Medicine

March 2022

  • Lauren Block, MD, MPH, Fellowship Program Director in the Division of General Internal Medicine at Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, has been promoted to Professor.
  • Susan Murin, MD, MBA, has been named Interim Dean of University of California, Davis, School of Medicine.
  • Darwin Conwell, MD, has been appointed Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at University of Kentucky College of Medicine.

November 2021

  • Leslie Fall, MD, has been appointed a clinical professor at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine Center for Clinical Education.
  • Amalia Landa-Galindez, MD, will serve as interim chair of the Department of Translational Medicine at Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine.

September 2021

  • Vineet Chopra, MD, MSc, has been named Chair of the Department of Medicine at University of Colorado School of Medicine.
  • David Jacoby, MD, has been appointed Interim Dean of Oregon Health and Science University School of Medicine.
  • Susan Gurley, MD, PhD, has been appointed Interim Chair of the Department of Medicine at Oregon Health and Sciences University School of Medicine.

June 2021

  • Grace C. Huang, MD, has been appointed Dean of Faculty Affairs for Harvard Medical School.
  • Charles Griffith, III, MD, has been named Acting Dean of University of Kentucky College of Medicine, effective July 1.
  • William Borden, MD, has been appointed Interim Chair of the Department of Medicine at George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

March 2021

  • Gayle Halminiak has been named Senior Director of Administration and Finance in the Department of Medicine at University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine.
  • Abby L. Spencer, MD, Vice Chair for Education at Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine, has been selected to join the editorial board of the Journal of General Internal Medicine.

April 2022

AAIM members received many of ACGME's highest honors at the 2022 conference:

  • Michael J. Aylward, MD, FACP, FAAP, Med-Peds Program Director at University of Minnesota Medical School, received the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award.
  • Linda Ortiz Morrison, CHCP, Executive Director of Anne Arundel Medical Center, received the GME Institutional Coordinator Excellence Award.
  • Joann L. Porter, MD, FACP, DIO at Creighton University School of Medicine, received the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award.
  • Lourdes J. Rodriguez, Internal Medicine Residency Program Administrator at Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine received the Debra L. Dooley GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award.
  • Mark C. Wilson, MD, MPH, Associate Dean for GME at University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, received the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award.

January 2022

  • Valerie J. Lang, MD, MHPE, Associate Professor of Medicine at University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, received the Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards
  • Jennifer O’Toole, MD, MEd, SFHM, Program Director of the Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Residency Program at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital/University of Cincinnati received the AAMC Group on Women in Medicine and Science Emerging Leadership Award.

August 2021

  • Jeff LaRochelle, MD, MPH, has been named Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at University of Central Florida College of Medicine.
  • Tamar Barlam, MD, has been promoted to Professor in the Department of Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine.

May 2021

  • Vineet Arora, MD, MAPP, has been appointed Dean for Medical Education of University of Chicago Biological Sciences Division.
  • Laurel Fick, MD, has been named Internal Medicine Residency Program Director at Ascension St. Vincent Hospital.

February 2021

  • Cynthia J. Brown, MD, has been appointed head of the Department for Internal Medicine at LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine
  • Louis Pangaro, MD, MACP, has been selected to serve as Interim Dean of F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences