Committee & Task Force News

AAIM committees and task forces support the strategic plan and critical initiatives that impact the organization and profession. This section provides quarterly updates about Alliance-level “working” committees. To learn more about charges for these committees and task forces, AAIM governance-oriented committees, or individual association program planning and survey committees, please visit the About AAIM section.

Interested in Serving?

AAIM runs an annual call for volunteers to serve on Alliance and association committees and task forces, usually in March/April. Committee and task volunteers are required to be current members (the institution’s dues must be paid for that year) as well as expected to have been members for at least three years and to have attended at least two Alliance or APDIM meetings in the last four years. To ensure the availability of a maximum number of volunteer opportunities, members may hold only one elected or appointed role per year (i.e., you cannot serve on multiple committees/task forces or on council and a committee/task force). Terms are usually one year for task forces and three years for committees. For more information about committee service, please contact the AAIM office at (703) 341-4540 or

AAIM Assessment Task Force

Current projects (as of April 2021):

  • Split into two work groups to review medical school/student assessments in the third and fourth year and to examine what information program directors want about applicants
  • Established a common framework that highlighted interpersonal and communication skills, professionalism, and clinical reasoning as focus areas

AAIM Business of Medicine Initiative Task Force

Current projects  (as of April 2021):

  • Began auditing content from AAIM Online 2021 and previous conferences to assess the possibility of re-purposing for "business of medicine" education

AAIM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force

Current projects (as of April 2021):

  • Discussed demographic data to collect in member profiles
  • Narrowed language to review and assess Alliance DEI-oriented initiatives and projects

AAIM Faculty Development Initiative Task Force

Current projects (as of April 2021):

  • Established three work groups (literature review, non-traditional methods, and survey composition) and examining scope and audience within a common framework
  • Collaborated with national and international experts on cultivating faculty development

AAIM Innovation Grants Committee

Current projects (as of April 2021):

AAIM Medical Education Learner Transitions Improvement Task Force

Current projects (as of April 2021):

  • Created a recommendation for a framework for a warm hand off between UME to GME and residency to fellowship based on competencies and the CLASS model

AAIM Medical Education Research Committee

Current projects (as of April 2021):

  • Created work groups to examine the impact of Step 1 moving to pass-fail on holisitic review and to review of longitudinal assessments

AAIM Research Committee

Current projects (as of April 2021):