Past Meetings

2017 Academic Internal Medicine Week

2017 Academic Internal Medicine Week

About the Conference

Members were excited about this new meeting format, bringing everyone together during the same week (a first for the Alliance!)

While Academic Internal Medicine Week has come to a close, the momentum is just beginning. Noteworthy highlights include:

  • Highest registration in Alliance history, marking the first time all member organizations’ annual meetings were held in the same city
  • New conference app was unveiled and downloaded by more than half of all participants
  • #AIMW17—more than 1,650 tweets were shared on Twitter throughout the week
  • New presentation materials received throughout the meeting have been added to the resource library
  • Congratulations to Hillary Gallagher from the University of Michigan Medical School, who won a $250 gift card with the Alliance All-Stars game.
  • Hottest topic among members: Unconscious Bias
    • APDIM/CDIM Joint Plenary: Unconscious Bias
    • Workshop: The Humanism Project—Curricular Innovation to Teach Communication Skills to Residents
    • Workshop: The Experience of Women Residents in Internal Medicine

AIMW 2017 Photo booth picture

AIMW 2017 Pictures

Primary Meetings

Academic Internal Medicine Week 2017 is the only conference of its kind for academic internal medicine professionals, bringing together faculty and staff from across all departments of internal medicne at medical schools and teaching hospitals. The meeting took place on March 19-22, 2017, at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, MD. Individual organization primary meeting tracks make up the conference.

  • 37th Annual AIM Education Conference: targeted to business administrators in departments of internal medicine at medical schools and affiliated teaching hospitals.
  • 2017 APDIM Spring Meetin: is targeted to program directors, associate program directors, program administrators, and other key faculty and staff responsible for residency and fellowship education.
  • 2017 Annual ASP Meeting: targeted to fellowship program directors, division chiefs, any physician faculty involved in an accredited internal medicine subspecialty fellowship program or its division.
  • 2017 CDIM National Meeting: targeted to clerkship directors and administrators responsible for teaching internal medicine to medical students.

Academic Internal Medicine Week 2017 is designed to bring together members across multiple associations to learn from each other in various settings, such as plenaries and workshops. Participants who register for any of the primary meetings are allowed to attend any session they find of interest. For example, if you have registered for the 2017 CDIM National Meeting, you are able to attend sessions for the 2017 APDIM Fall Meeting or the 37th Annual AIM Educational Conference.

View Primary Meeting Agenda

APDIM Program Administrators Meeting

March 19-20, 2017

The APDIM Program Administrators Meeting is designed to provide residency and fellowship program administrators at all experience levels the pathways to a successful career, including workplace accountability, resident recruitment, CCC best practices, and emotional intelligence.

Download Full Agenda

APDIM Chief Residents Meeting

March 19-20, 2017

The APDIM Chief Residents Meeting is designed for incoming chief residents (beginning July 1, 2017) who seek opportunities to build knowledge and skills in the many roles of a chief resident: administrator, leader, educator, mentor, and coach.

Download Full Agenda

The meeting format mixes plenary sessions, small group sessions that allow in-depth discussion of key topics, and a menu of workshops to individualize the program. It is also an outstanding opportunity for program directors and administrators to spend time with their chief residents and for chiefs to begin to develop important networking relationships with colleagues from across the country. Chiefs spend time sharing ideas, problem solving, and getting accustomed to their new roles as leaders in their program.

ECFMG Shares Perspective

Dr. William Pinsky

As internal medicine is the top specialty choice of international medical graduates, academic internal medicine will be the “canary in the [coal] mine” for the effects of the executive orders, explained William Pinsky, MD, President and CEO, ECFMG. Dr. Pinsky spoke at a plenary session during Academic Internal Medicine Week 2017 and suggested several points as we move ahead:

  1. Include contingency plans for addressing potential scenarios, such as unfilled resident spots by July 1, or the IMG applicant pool decreases
  2. Study impact on match results and analyze trends in citizenship and placement of IMGs (even beyond the six banned countries)
  3. Internal medicine programs can help by educating the public and lawmakers on the contributions of IMGs, and collaborate with other specialties in the U.S. medical education community

Award Honorees

Award Honorees

If you missed the announcement, check out these individuals in academic internal medicine that have been recognized for their leadership, dedicated service, and remarkable achievements.

View Honorees

AAIM Diversity Award
Charles R. Drew University

APDIM Dema C. Daley Founders Award
Robert Ferguson, MD, FACP
Greater Baltimore Medical Center

AIM Distinguished Service Award
Steve Vinciguerra
Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine

APDIM Program Administrator Service Award
Eileen Kruck, C-TAGME
Stony Brook Medicine/Southampton Hospital

APDIM Distinguished Medical Educator Award
Suzanne Brandenburg, MD
University of Colorado School of Medicine

ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Distinguished Professor Award
Robert Arnold, MD
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

APM Robert H. Williams, MD, Distinguished Chair of Medicine Award
Nancy J. Brown, MD
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

CDIM Early Career Medical Student Educator Award
Andrew Olson, MD
University of Minnesota Medical School

CDIM Charles H. Griffith, III, MD, Educational Research and Scholarship Award
Kimberly Tartaglia, MD
Ohio State University College of Medicine

CDIM Louis N. Pangaro, MD, Educational Program Development Award
Marty D. Muntz, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin

CDIM Linda J. Marts Administrator Service Award
Kenneth Staack
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

CDIM Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, Service Award
Sara B. Fazio, MD
Harvard Medical School Beth Israel Deaconess Medical

MPPDA Walter W. Tunnessen, Jr., MD, Award
Justin Rucci, MD
Yale University School of Medicine

MPPDA Leadership in Med-Peds Award
Suzanne K. Woods, MD
Duke University School of Medicine

MPPDA Brendan Kelly Award
Namita Sachdev, MD
University of Michigan Medical School